Featured Author Friday: Belle Whittington

Today’s featured author is the lovely Belle Whittington. If you are looking for a thrilling young adult read then look no further than Belle. She weaves her intricate stories in the paranormal and science fiction genres. Besides her amazing writing she is a wonderfully sweet lady and always helpful when some of us slackers need to run word sprints to catch up on our word counts 😉

 

Mia, thank you so very much for featuring me on your lovely blog!  I’m honored to have the opportunity of getting to know your readers and fans.

 

Featured Author: Belle Whittington Belle Whittington_author photo

 

Can you tell everyone a little about yourself?

I have been daydreaming stories for as long as I can remember.  My first recollection of wanting to be a writer was when I was in the second grade, and my teacher, Mrs. Rambin, would have us lay our heads on our desks after lunch while she read us stories full of magic and imagination.

Most of my early writings were stories with a twist of science fiction…even my earliest poems.  I remember sitting on the dam of a neighbor’s pond around the time I was eleven, writing a story about space travel.  In fact, I still have that little handwritten story. It’s still bound in the same yellow notebook that I put it in way back in the sixth grade!

Growing up in Nacogdoches, the oldest town in Texas, afforded me summers full of adventure with my friends.  I call on those adventures and memories a great deal for my YA stories.  Cicada has a lot of the energy of those childhood adventures spun throughout.  One of them is something that actually happened to me when I was thirteen years old.  I was on one of my adventures in the woods with my dog, Dusty.  We made our way through the woods to a neighboring pasture and crawled through the barbed wire fence.

When we got to the top of one of the rolling hills in the grassy field, I realized I was standing in the middle of a giant circle imprinted in the pasture grass.  No one had ever told me about crop circles at that time in my life, so I just thought it was an odd occurrence that there was a strange circle in the tall grass.   Now that circle is forever memorialized in a YA novel, Cicada!

Are you Indie Published, Traditional, Hybrid, unpublished?

I’m an Indie Author, and I love every moment of it!  I’m pretty sure my readers are the best in the whole wide universe!

Tell us a little about your current work, project, or book?

My current work in progress is my book titled Monarch.  It’s the third book in a trilogy, and it’s due to release this summer.  I really love this book.  All the questions my readers have about the secrets in Cicada and Firefly will be answered in Monarch.  The only question is: who will survive to the end of the story?

What is coming up next for you?

After I finish Monarch, I’ve got a few other stories that are waiting their turn.  Several of them may be co-written with other authors.

Where can readers follow you and will you be appearing in person anywhere in 2014?

To find out where I’ll be appearing in 2014, readers can check my “Events” page on both my website and my Facebook fan page.

 

And here’s where I can be found around the Interwebs:

 

Inspiration Playlists:

Where my books are sold:

 

Paperback & eBook:

Where to find out more about my books:

  • Book Trailers:

○       CICADA:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WF2fd2GxVKo

○       FIREFLY:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pa5I9JH0OBk

 

One thought on “Featured Author Friday: Belle Whittington

Leave a Reply

