What I Did And Didn’t Do On My “Vacation”

I say “vacation” but what it really was, was a long awaited trip to Children’s Hospital for my 16 year old son who has been out of school for the past year and half with mysterious pain throughout his entire body. We did our best to make this trip fun since going to the doctor at any age can be a real downer…

To sum it all up. I did a whole lot of nothing. No writing got done because working in the car makes me sick. After 8 hours in the car on the way up to Denver, sleep was the only thing I wanted once we got to the hotel. I am one of those people who can not sleep or even take my eyes off the road when I am on a long road trip even when I am in the passenger seat. Especially when going over the snow packed mountain passes like Wolf Creek.

Here’s a look at what the weather was like when we left town:

Southwest CO 4/27/14

Southwest CO 4/27/14

This was an hour later on the road… Smooth sailing ahead, right?

Bayfield, CO 4/27/14

Bayfield, CO 4/27/14

Wrong… An hour and half after that: Welcome to Wolf Creek Pass. Seasons don’t matter here, it can and does snow in June.

Wolf Creek 4/27/14

Wolf Creek 4/27/14

And to round out our bipolar Colorado weather, here’s the view from our balcony at the hotel once we rolled into town:

Denver, CO 4/27/14

Denver, CO 4/27/14

We went to Denver for my oldest son to be seen at Children’s Hospital, we ended up doing some touristy things, ate out and played games at Dave and Busters, went to Cherry Creek Mall (we don’t have malls out here where we live so this was a big thing. Well we have one, but it’s a one story thing with 70% of the shops closed inside), we stopped by Mile High Stadium because my youngest son and his dad are huge Broncos fans, saw the Capital Building, we drove all over those crazy streets with way too much traffic, and then hit our doctors appointment.

 

Go Broncos!

Go Broncos!

Mile High

Mile High

Church down town

Church down town

Golden doors... Yeah that doesn't flaunt your wealth or anything.

Golden doors… Yeah that doesn’t flaunt your wealth or anything.

All in all it was worth the drive, we got answers we desperately needed for the past year and a half. And now we have a plan of action for my son to start feeling better. So, yay for that. Still I wished I could be getting some writing done in our down time. But down time wasn’t happening.

Our morning view in Children's Hospital. Awesome people, amazing experience.

Our morning view in Children’s Hospital. Awesome people, amazing experience.

After the doctors appointment we had to pick up our youngest son from staying with family, visit, pick up things that needed to be delivered to other family members, and visit some more. Then we ate at IHOP which really didn’t sound good at the time and ended up being a very bad decision.

On the way home we stopped off in Colorado Springs, I met up with A.L. Kessler and had coffee with her and her daughter. Then we hit a comic book store (since we don’t have those here either). We loaded up our Marvel, DC, and Image swag and hit the road again.

All in all, we left Brighton (where we picked up our son at and had IHOP) at 11:30ish a.m. and didn’t get back home until 11:30pm… It was a very, very long trip with no writing getting done. I am very disappointed in myself. The only plus, creatively, is that I did get hit with a story idea that I jotted down in Evernote while we were doing 75 down I-25. That is a project I’m looking forward to!

map2

Leave a Reply

