Featured Author Friday (and Review): Niki Becker

Special Assignment by Niki Becker

Synopsis:

SPECIAL ASSIGNMENT

Special Assignment by Niki Becker

Jake left Justice, Kansas shortly after the wreck. His life had been forever changed and he didn’t know how he could stay in the one place that

was a constant reminder of both women. Now on a quest to prove himself he taps into the one thing better left alone.

Charlie knew that eventually she’d have to run again. Resolution, California wouldn’t be safe forever, someone would learn about her past. She just never imagined it would be the one person she’s spent a decade trying to forget.

Charlie and her brother Justin have made a new life in their beach side house on the banks of California. Justin stripping and Charlie hooking – neither wanted these jobs but they both paid the bills. Life was calm until trouble happened inside one seemingly friendly hotel.

Jake and Charlie, face to face with each other and their past.

Will they both overcome their shadows that haunt each of them?

Is there ever a way to forgive and forget when death is involved?

Special Assignment – The only thing special about this assignment are the two people involved.

My Review:

Wow!

If my review could only be made in one word that would be it. Just wow. I love when I read a book that is different from what I mainly read and it draws me in. I’m not a huge fan of 1st person stories, but when I do find ones I like I love them and I love this.

Now, just because I love it doesn’t mean the characters are perfect or hell even likable to begin with. If I could have punt kicked Jake in the nads I would have, on more than one occasion. But I kept reading, the story slowly peels back the layers of both characters to reveal the hows and whys of there souls and we see that while both are flawed in the end they find a way to move past those flaws, the old hurts, and find the strength to want to be happy. Most people in their situations probably would be content to wallow, but not Charlie and certainly not Jake, I think they’ve had enough of—well, never mind. You’ll have to read it yourself.

I don’t like to give spoilers in my book reviews, bottom line I enjoyed this book. Keep in mind that the chapters switch back and forth of the point of view, but Ms. Becker makes this transition seamless and I was never confused as to whose point of view I was tapping into. Oh and the sex? Holy, hotness, batman!! This is definitely off the charts. It’s graphic and will make you blush on more than one occasion.

 

4.5 out of 5 Stars

Heat Level: 5

Buy Special Assignment on Amazon- Print, Amazon- Kindle, Barnes & Noble, Smashwords, Bookstrand, All Romance eBook, iTunes.

Add Special Assignment to your Goodreads bookshelf!

I was given a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review

 

Author Bio:

Niki Becker is married and lives in Houston with her husband Tony. They have two dogs, Toto and Doogie. They have been together for over 8 and a 1/2 years and he brings her more joy than she could ever imagine as a child. She loves to read and has been hooked on the romance genre ever since her lifelong best friend gave her “Ashes to Ashes’ by Tami Hoag to read when they were younger.

Niki finds her strength through her family, especially her parents. They always support her in life; they push her to strive for greatness. There once was a motto that Niki heard in her youth through her Taekwondo life ‘Reach for the Stars’ and that is what Niki has always done. It was through her upbringing that the values Niki has and displays come from. With her parents always cheering her on in life she was able to grow up having faith in herself and her ability to conquer the world.

Niki enjoys writing many different genre’s of fiction. Her areas range from science fiction/ paranormal, mystery, romance, poetry and erotica.

___________________________________________________________________________

My Ratings are as follows

Stars:

5- If it were legal I’d marry this book 

4- I’m over the moon for this book

3- Very, very enjoyable

2- Good, maybe could have been better

1- Meh, I’m indifferent about it or I didn’t finish

Heat Level:

5- Graphic and abundant.

4- Graphic with just a touch of restraint.

3- This is the kind of scenes that if it were on TV would have to be shown on HBO

2- Getting a little heavier but still nothing that couldn’t be shown in network TV

1- Sex is eluded to or given a very sweet touch with pretty words, nothing graphic

2 thoughts on “Featured Author Friday (and Review): Niki Becker

Leave a Reply

