Saying Goodbye

After a crazy and sad week the gears are slowly moving again. Writing took a back seat to the craziness of having a bad reaction to my medication after the doctor upped the dosage earlier in the week and then on Friday we had to put our dog, Maximus, down which was heart breaking. Needless to say, writing was, and still is, the last thing on my mind.

Maximus Decimus Meridius RIP 10/10/14

Maximus Decimus Meridius RIP 10/10/14

We will be reeling from the loss of Max for quite a long time, packing away his food bowl and blanket was especially hard. He was part of our family for 13 years. But come Monday it’s back to the grindstone.

I will be lessening how many irons I keep in my fire and will be cutting it down from 5 WIP to only 1. My current project will be Dusk (working title only) and it will have my full attention for the rest of October and November. But that starts Monday, this weekend is family time. Time to cuddle with my kids, watch movies, be sad when we feel like it, and mourn.

But this post isn’t about work, it’s about family. And Max was family. He started off as my nephews dog, Chris got him in December 2001 when Max was 4 months old. So Max was our neighbor. He and our GS Kita grew up with only a chainlink fence separating them. When my nephews grandpa passed away 10 months later Chris had to move away with his mom and Max came to live with us. Even before he had come to live with us we would pet and play with him, give him treats, he’s always been part of us since the year my youngest son was born.

He was stubborn at times, especially as he got older. He refused to stay away from skunks and would get sprayed. It was only in these last two years that we were able to curb his skunk stalking. He slept in my oldest sons room every night and if my son left the room for even two minutes to get a drink of water Max would bark, this thunderous bark, until my son came back in the room with him. He loved to have his ears rubbed, the minute you started that you had a friend for life. His best friend was Kita and when we had to put her down on Valentine’s Day of 2013 we weren’t sure if he’d make it through. He refused to eat or drink for days and would just lay on her spot on the floor. But in the end Dory helped pull him through.

We had Dory for about 2 years before Kita passed, but Kita and Max were a pair and they never allowed Dory to join them so the two of them were kept separate from Dory. They had the backyard, she had the front. But with Kita gone and Max depressed we tried getting them to interact and after awhile it worked. Dory is much younger than both Max and Kita (both were born in 2001), so when Dory would go out with Max every once in a while he would get playful and think he could run and pounce like she did. Eventually he’d wear himself out and be done with playing for the rest of the day, but she definitely helped bring him back after losing Kita. Now she’s by herself, the vet suggested looking into getting a puppy to help the loss, but we can’t get a puppy. It wouldn’t ease the pain, I think at this point it might only make it worse. For now we just have to pull through.

I found this poem that pretty much sums it up, the author is unknown so I’m not sure how or who to credit this to. Here’s the link: http://www.petsfarewell.com/poems.html

Tribute To A Best Friend

Author Unknown
Sunlight streams through window pane
unto a spot on the floor….
then I remember,
it’s where you used to lie,
but now you are no more.

Our feet walk down a hall of carpet,
and muted echoes sound….
then I remember,
It’s where your paws would joyously abound.

A voice is heard along the road,
and up beyond the hill,
then I remember it can’t be yours….
your golden voice is still.

But I’ll take that vacant spot of floor
and empty muted hall
and lay them with the absent voice
and unused dish along the wall

I’ll wrap these treasured memorials in a blanket of my love
and keep them for my best friend until we meet above.

<3 Max <3

We love you, Maximus. Always and Forever. ❤

Leave a Reply

